

Nomination Guidelines for 2016 S. Chandrasekar Prize

March 18, 2016, DPP executive committee

Any DPP members may submit one nomination or seconding letter for the prize in any given year. A nomination should include: A letter evaluating the nominee's qualifications in the light of the particular features of the prize and identifying the specific work to be recognized.

Nomination statement shall include:

- 1. Name of nominee (only one person)
- 2. Citation
- 3. Description of scientific accomplishments and its significance
- 4. CV of the nominee
- 5. Full list of publication with WoS citation for each paper (for possible papers recorded in WoS). Some information on published journal impact factor. You may use ResearcherID (http://www.researcherid.com/Home.action).
- 6. Seconding letters from four leading plasma physicists each letter less than 3 pages. Seconding letters are not limited from DPP member.
- 7. Commitment letter by the nominee to be able to participate APPC and to write a review article to the DPP journal and the title of the paper.

DPP shall not give not more than once of this prize to the same recipient. The names of the Prize Selection committee will be posted on the DPP homepage only after its decision. The nomination statement shall be sent to the DPP chair electronically.

2016 S. Chandrasekhar Prize is sponsored by Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (<u>http://www.ansto.gov.au/</u>) by a proposal of AAPPS council member Robert Robinson (former president of AIP). The nomination deadline for 2016 S. Chandrasekar Prize is April 30, 2016 in Japan time.

Past recipients: 2014 : Prof. Setsuo Ichimaru 2015 : Prof. Predhiman Kaw



Appendix

S. Chandrasekar Prize of Plasma Physics

AAPPS-DPP executive committee

1. Foundation of S. Chandrasekar Prize

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (1910-1995) was an Indian-American astrophysicist who was awarded the 1983 Nobel Prize for physics for his theory of black hole. He worked in various areas including plasma physics. Plasma physics community is benefited from his works through his textbooks such as "Principles of stelar dynamics (1942)", "Plasma Physics (1975)", "Hydrodynamics and Hydromagnetic stability (1981)".

In 2014, we have established the Division of Plasma Physics under AAPPS. Asia-Pacific region is rapidly growing economically and scientifically. A large number of new programs on various fundamental and applied aspects of plasma physics are emerging in several countries of Asia and the Pacific regions. Young people taking up careers in plasma science in these regions look forward to the prestige of recognition by their peers and this becomes more



S. Chandrasellia

equitable when your peers are intimately familiar with your work. This will also give a "sense of accomplishment" to the Asia-Pacific region as a whole because the body of significant work already pioneered by the Awardees will be ascribed to this region. The executive committee of division of plasma physics after consultation to I-HAC (International Honorary Advisory Committee) decided to establish Plasma Physics Prize after S. Chandrasekar to recognize seminal/pioneering works in this field.

2. Description of the S. Chandrasekar Prize

The Chandrasekhar Prize is awarded by the Division of Plasma Physics of the AAPPS to recognize outstanding contributions to experimental and/or theoretical research in fundamental plasma physics and plasma applications in all fields of physics.

i) **Rule**: This Prize will be given to an AAPPS-DPP member who has made seminal /

pioneering contribution to any field of plasma physics or plasma applications as stated above. ii) **Nomination**: Necessary documents and time schedule for nomination will be announced in the DPP home page. DPP seeks outstanding nominations worldwide and especially from the Asia-Pacific region.

iii) **Selection**: Selection will be made by the Chandrasekhar Prize Selection Committee annually.

iv) **Selection Committee**: DPP-ExCo will appoint Chair and members of selection committee taking into account of the I-HAC recommendations.

v) **Award Ceremony**: Certificate, Medal and a cash award will be bestowed to the awardees at the APPC conference held every three years.

vi) **Obligations**: Chandrasekhar awardees should deliver invited talks in the APPC as well as contribute review papers to the DPP journal.